1 min read
Cebu City on Modified Enhance Community Quarantine starting May 16

Cebu City along with NCR and province of Laguna will be placed under a Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) starting May 16 until May 31 while the rest of Cebu will transition to General Community Quarantine (GCQ).  Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque made this announcement during the virtual press briefing.

Based on the recommendation of  Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases  (IATF), the following region will be under GCQ starting May 16:

  • Region II
  • Region III
  • Region IV-A (except Laguna)
  • CAR
  • Region VII (except Cebu City)
  • Region IX
  • Region XI
  • Region XIII

For your guide about the GCQ Transition, you may check this link: Difference Between ECQ & GCQ: Your Ultimate Guide

Roque additionally described the modified enhanced community quarantine as a transition phase from a strict enhanced community to a relaxed general community quarantine. Below is the difference between Modified ECQ and plain ECQ.

What’s the difference between ECQ and Modified ECQ?


Modified ECQ

  • no movement regardless of age and health status 
  • limited movement within containment zone for obtaining essential services and work
  • minimal economic activity except for utility services such as food, power and water and the critical economic sector 
  • operations of selected manufacturing and processing plants up to maximum of 50% workforce.
  • no transportation activity except for utility services 
  • limited transporting services for essential goods and services
  • suspension of physical classes
  • suspension of physical classes

The public's movement for accessing essential services and work will remain limited, while face-to-face classes will still be suspended for areas under modified lockdown. Local government officials can also decide which high-risk barangays will remain under the ECQ rules.